Dream on

One of the many, many things that bites you in the rear as a parent is watching your children form into “mini” versions of you.

I’m not talking cute little look-a-likes that are just stinking adorable.  No, I’m talking, those hidden traits.  Rather, the ones you try to keep hidden because the general populace should have to suffer from only so many of your bad traits.  But, alas, in your kids they show up exponentially.

Some parents, have yet to pick up on this dreaded little fact.  Or, they are living in denial as to what their bad traits are.  I’m trying to decide if that’s a problem or not.

Sadly, I am unable to do so.  I think, to some degree, this has to do with homeschooling.  Not only do I see those bad traits come out in my children, but I then have to deal with them every. bloomin’. day.

Let me tell you, while you may see “tenacious” on my resume, and erroneously think that’s such a wonderful attribute; the stubborn mules I have to deal with daily aren’t so fabulous.  And, since when is it fair that they seem to be gifted in that area?  I mean, truly, I’ve been building my skills and experience for a lifetime.

I’m recognizing something in my kids recently that they definitely received from me.  (I did recognize it some time ago, it was just never a *thing* until just recently.)  We are “dreamers”.  One wouldn’t think that’s a bad thing.  Dreamers see the world of possibility.  “Not feasible”, isn’t really seen as an issue.  More of how can it be worked around.  Dreamers are responsible for so many things that we appreciate in this world.

Except, not just any dreamers are responsible for that.  No, I suspect the world is full of many dreamers, that accomplish nothing.  What most of us are lacking is the strength and willpower to become a doer.

Two of my children are currently struggling with this reality.  They have dreams, and they want them to happen.  But, they have their mother’s poor traits. . .

As I pondered this the other night, reflecting on how this applied to my own life as well, I was struck with a few thoughts.

  • Nothing is stopping me (us) from becoming doers, except ourselves.
  • Why, oh why, didn’t I think of this before, and correct it so the kids could have a more positive role model?  (Mom/parent guilt trip anyone?  Don’t worry about missing out, because there’s at least one trip running daily around these parts.)
  • We can make these dreams happen.  Still.  Now.  In the future.
  • At least we have dreams to start from.

 

 

Leave a comment